top of page

(#59) Argentina Fans Kaattoorkadavu (2019) - [3.5/10]

Updated: Apr 8, 2019

An account of an Argentina Football Team fan between the 2010 and 2018 FIFA World Cups.

The film is set on the background of an Argentine football team fan Vipinan between their reign from the 2010 to 2018 FIFA world cups.

How would I describe this film in one word?

Boring.

Note So, this is my first Malayalam review. Pretty disappointing that my first Malayalam movie review had to have the honour of setting the low bar for my rating system. Well, at least I have a low bar now.

Review The synopsis for the film reads, "The film is set on the background of an Argentine football team fan Vipinan between their reign from the 2010 to 2018 FIFA World Cups." When a synopsis of a film sounds like this without any proper indication of a structured story arc and just sounds like it's going to be a life account, you know you've made a mistake in buying those non-refundable tickets. So that's basically it, there isn't much of story, it just starts in a World Cup and ends in one. The "Argentina" word addition to movie just looks like a big clickbait right now. Just that in case, it was a money bait since I watched it in the theatre - day one. LOL. Besides the irrelevant football theme, the story otherwise was of a weird love triangle between two guys and a girl in which they eventually get together. Yeah, it's a spoiler, I know. You're welcome. I just saved you two and a half hours of boredom. The problem with this movie was it wanted a football theme, but they knew they couldn't really craft a proper story from a few World Cups, so in between those World Cups ( which they annoyingly breezed by fairly quickly without proper emphasis) they just squeezed in a half-baked love story. They tried to be incorporate the two sport and romance genre, but rather than fusing, they just made the two sequences and scenes of football and romance very different, very stupid, and very annoying. The actor didn't perform badly, though in the beginning, he was quite irritable, he evolved well. While the actress had a decent performance, though nothing noteworthy because the story never gave her a challenge.

All in all, the first half gets a very deserved rating of 2. Maybe I'm being too generous. But, it didn't kill me, hence the 2. The second half was slightly better and more tolerable with a score of 5. If my math is right, my enjoyment score (a.k.a my rating) sums up to a decent 3.5. Am I being too harsh? Cause although I felt like leaving the theatre after the first half, the second was decently below average. But I have to be brutally honest sooner or later and set my low bar, and you Argentina Fans Kaattoorkadavu, you pathetic waste of time, will be my inaugural film to enter the sub-five score rating. Congrats. RATING: 3.5/10

 

Director: Midhun Manuel Thomas Rated: U Runtime: 2 hr 20 min Genre: Drama, Sport Starring: Kalidas Jayaram, Aishwarya Lekshmi, Anu K. Aniyan

103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page