top of page

(#54) Hunter x Hunter S1 (2011) - [9.5/10]

Updated: Apr 8, 2019

Sample Premise.

The show features the protagonist Gon, on a mission to train himself as a hunter to reunite with his father, who is alive and an accomplished hunter.

How would I describe this show in one word?

Masterpiece

Note HxH seemed to be the anime you all wanted a review of. "AJ, isn't HxH a kids show? - If there’s anyone who has that assumption, DM me and I’ll send you a link.

Review I remember back in January I was thinking how much I was enjoying HxH even though I wasn't at the halfway point of the show, but within so little time it impressed me. Widely and quite fairly regarded as the best anime of all time, HxH is a deconstruction of shounen anime (like Naruto and One Piece), it subverts the common tropes and styles of a typical shounen anime, making it feel fresh and unique. Saying frat HxH is an anime about a boy called Gon and his pursuit become a hunter to meet his father would be a crime. Though that’s the key plot of this anime, there’s so much going on in between that by the end of it you’ll be like "Damn! This was one hellava wild ride". The plot is basically devoid of anime’s biggest clichés and its intricately detailed. The characters, the animation and the fights are all outstanding. It takes a special show for you to compliment the talent of its creator as Yoshihiro Togashi is nothing short of a genius. However, watching HxH can prove to be a tedious task depending on your patience, cause its 148 episodes (no fillers) long and the slow intense build-up can be boring for some. But I'd honestly request you give a chance to prove its brilliance and soon enough, Naruto, One Piece and Dragon Balls will no longer be at the top of your best Shounen Anime list, cause it’s currently my favorite and I'll make sure I re-watch it someday. It’s a show that’ll spoil you to demand better quality from other anime. I'd give it… RATING: 9.5/10

 

Director: Hiroshi Kōjina Rated: TV-14 Runtime: 24 min/episode Genre: Animation, Action, Adventure Starring: Megumi Han, Mariya Ise, Issei Futamata

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page