top of page

(#57) Angel Beats! S1 (2010) - [7.8/10]

Updated: Apr 8, 2019

Sample Premise.

Rebellious teens fight in armed combat against one dispassionate girl's supernatural powers in an afterlife high school.

How would I describe this show in one word?

Impactful

Note Angel Beats isn’t perfect. It isn’t the best nor the most entertaining and beautiful anime ever made but there’s something about this show that kind of stays in me even today.

Review The story follows the attempts of a bunch of teens in the afterlife trying to fight against God. This 13-episode anime is a tear-jerker, especially with that killer final episode. It made me question the way I live and realize how unpredictable and harsh life can be (as if I never realized that in the first place). Though the climax is kind of abrupt, plagued with unanswered questions and a major plot hole, I was still hooked by its portrayal of the whole "departure" theme, that I found myself in an equally devastated position like it's MC.

But in spite of all the mature and depressing content, Angel Beats was a comedy landmine right from the get-go. There was a particular rocket chair propulsion scene that got me so good that I had to pause the video to catch my breath, haven’t enjoyed any anime comedy scene that well yet (might change once I’m done with Gintama). My point is, Angel Beats is emotionally well balanced. The characters are pretty fascinating, though most of them lack proper depth and detail. For all it’s worth, this show is a promising and easy watch right from episode 1, if you’re prepared to ignore the plot holes and do a little research after finishing it. It’s one of the few animes that I'd love to re-watch some day.


Story - 7/10

Animation - 8/10

Character - 8/10

Enjoyment - 8.5/10

RATING: 7.8/10

 

Director: Seiji Kishi Rated: TV-14 Runtime: 25 min/episode Genre: Animation, Action, Comedy Starring: Hiroshi Kamiya, Harumi Sakurai, Kana Hanazawa

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page