top of page

(#56) Yuri on Ice S1 (2016) - [7.5/10]

Updated: Apr 8, 2019

Sample Premise.

On the verge of retirement, skater Yuri Katsuki meets two skaters who rekindle his competitive fire.

How would I describe this show in one word?

Fascinating

Note Nobody recommended me to watch this but my curiosity towards yaoi made me proceed with it anyway.

Review Yuri on Ice has a polarizing impact on its viewers, some will love it while others would find it cringey and lame. Why is it cringey? Well as I had stated, it's yaoi (gay). Though it isn’t explicitly revealed or a main plot point of the story, viewers with a conservative or (I’m going to say it) "homophobic" outlook are unlikely to enjoy Yuri on Ice. But if you are prepared to leave that aside or don’t really give care about that aspect, the show is all about a wonderful relationship developing between a legendary figure skater and his former competitor, Katsuki Yuri, as he starts coaching him. Their relationship is pretty fun and enjoyable to watch. I loved the bromance between Gon and Killua from Hunter X Hunter and this was very much similar to that. Leaving the topic of sexual orientation aside, Yuri on Ice teaches friendship, professional rivalry and hard work as necessary components of life.

The animation is beautiful or should I say all the men in the show are beautiful cause damn, they were hot! The only issue I had was the drag in the middle in spite of it being a 12 episode show, I mean come on, skating is cool but devoting too much time to showcase the skills of irrelevant characters is just boring. I wouldn’t say this anime has a lot of substance or drama to it, but if you like to watch hot, grown men being cute and shit, Yuri on Ice is a lovely treat. And of course, don’t criticize the show just because it touches a sexual orientation you don’t approve.


Story - 7/10

Animation - 8.5/10

Character - 7.5/10

Enjoyment - 7/10

Overall Rating: 7.5/10

 

Director: Sayo Yamamoto Rated: TV-14 Runtime: 20 min/episode Genre: Animation, Comedy, Drama Starring: Toshiyuki Toyonaga, Jun'ichi Suwabe, Josh Grelle

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page