top of page

(#71) Stree (2018) - [8.25/10]

Updated: Jun 7, 2019

A quest to end a town's curse is undertaken by three men after encountering the ghost.

The people of Chanderi live under a constant fear of Stree, the spirit of a woman, who attacks men at night during the festivals. Vicky, along with his friends, decides to solve the mystery.

How would I describe this film in one word?

Wit.

Note

I'm not good with horrors, so naturally, I find myself not enjoying them regardless of whether the story is interesting or not (I find horror movie plots to be mostly dumb) especially if they're the jump-scare, gorey, gothical type of horror. But this isn't that. This is a horror-comedy. Horror comedies I find myself enjoying even if it does scare me a little. My tolerance to horror is very low so you can trust me when I say it's not as scary as you think it would be. I suppose that would be a let down for some people. But I genuinely enjoyed the movie.



Review

It's a Rajkummar Rao and Shraddha Kapoor starrer. I've always been a big fan of Rajkummar Rao's films and this just adds to his list of great films and great acting in it. The story is centered in the town of Chanderi where a spirit by the name of Stree has haunted (and murdered) the men in the town for generations during the nights of a festival period. Vicky and his friends encounter Stree and decide to solve the mystery and bring the town's curse to an end. The story was interesting and captivating. But not enough to be the main highlight of the film. What stole the show wasn't the story but the incredible wit and humour incorporated into the horror-themed plot. It was really funny; some smile-eliciting, some laughable some belly-aching. Also loaded with some killer catchy lines, my favourite being "Vicky, please". That was so good. The casts' acting was lovely to watch as well. I've never seen eyes so enchanting as Shraddha Kapoor's in this movie. Is it a part and reflection of her character? Cause that's certainly what I felt.

To be honest, I'm writing this review 2 days after I saw it so it's not all fresh in memory. But I do know that I sincerely enjoyed it and would certainly watch it again given the opportunity because it's just so much fun. RATING: 8.25/10

 

Director: Amar Kaushik

Rated: PG-12

Runtime: 2 hr 8 min

Genre: Comedy, Horror, Mystery Starring: Rajkummar Rao, Shraddha Kapoor, Pankaj Tripathi

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page