top of page

(#29) Trapped (2016) - [7.75/10]

Updated: Apr 8, 2019

A man attempts to escape a room after accidentally locking himself inside it without food, water and electricity.

Shaurya unintentionally locks himself inside his new house in an uninhabited high-rise, and finds it hard to survive without water, food and electricity.

How would I describe this film in one word?

Unconventional.

Note

Went into this film for the reputation Rajkummar Rao had for it. A critically raved indie film which upshooted his career. And Rajkummar Rao was also known to be among the few underrated actually talented actors in the cinema. I agree that he's underrated, the latter part of the statement can be put up for debate. I had seen his film Newton prior to this. And even though my expectations for the film didn't live up in terms of its story, I greatly enjoyed his acting. And that's why I thought I'd watch his most celebrated acting performance.



Review

Let me start off by saying the movie began brilliantly with the chemistry between the two male and female leads. You couldn't not break a smile watching it. Then main story begins to unravel about him being trapped in a high-rise apartment. No, I'm not gonna say it suddenly got boring story-wise. I read the premise, I was expecting this, I didn't come here to watch a romance. But after the first few 15 minutes from his mishap, the energy, pace and momentum of the story slowly started to die. While his acting performance just shimnered dazzling colors during this stage which is the biggest noteworthy part of this movie, this sequence, although very interesting, could've sacrificed many scenes. I felt that it dragged a bit too much to reach the optimal feature film runtime. The average viewer could pity this situation but nothing interesting really happened almost like it was too realistic. Except, it wasn't very realistic. If you've watched the film, you'd know what I'm talking about. Yeah, he could've *burned* something else which was the obvious choice in all of our viewers' minds.

But still, this is such a great drama. It is an unconventional take on the genre (like Cast Away, Life of Pi, 127 Hours). If not for the story, watch it for Rajkummar Rao's bravura performance.

RATING: 7.75/10

 

Director: Vikramaditya Motwane Rated: UA Runtime: 1 hr 45 min Genre: Action, Drama, Thriller Starring: Rajkummar Rao, Geetanjali Thapa, Shiladitya Sen

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page