top of page

(#67) Big Little Lies S1 (2017) - [8.5/10]

Updated: Apr 9, 2019

The lives of three women drastically change after one of their children are accused of bullying another child in school.

The apparently perfect lives of three mothers of first graders unravel to the point of murder.

How would I describe this show in one word?

Aesthetic.

Note

I've been repeatedly suggested to watch this show by a friend for a long time but I've been caught up watching movies instead. When I finally decided to watch it, the very first episode had me hooked. So hooked, I binged the seven-episode miniseries (now extended for a second season due to its immense popularity) in its entirety. Except... When I said it you be got me hooked from the very first episode, I kinda meant just the very first episode? Let me explain.



Review

The story, which is very uniquely interesting and refreshing, focuses mainly on 5 women. More aptly, 5 mothers whose lives go on a downward spiral and turns into murder with the butterfly effect originating with a boy child being accused of bullying another mother's girl child. It's hard to summarize becomes so much goes on and drama and rage between the mothers are so fun, enthralling and suspenseful. Not only is it a social study of the relationship between working women and housewives but also a study of the relationship between mothers and their children and also between wives and their husbands. It may sound like a social justice outcry disguised as a film, but it's so real and powerful that it proves that sticking to its authenticity to illustrate the troubled lives of mothers, wives and women in general is more effective than raising banners. Among others things, it highlights how wives endure abuse from husbands and puts on a mask for their children which is very a dire reality and something that be applauded. This show most definitely deserves a standing ovation. P.S. That twist in the climax was so unexpected. If nothing else, watch it for twist, you won't see it coming.


Technically, it's wonderful. The cinematography is beautiful, the acting is fiery (especially from Nicole Kidman, Alexsander Skarsgaard and Reese Witherspoon - their acting performances were the human embodiment of WOW), the music is soothing and the direction from Jean-Marc Vallée is exquisite - first Sharp Objects and now this, wow, this guy is something and if he isn't a something in the industry, he needs to be cause his work is amazing!


Now that little remark I made in the beginning about how I only got hooked in just the first episode may sound like a sort of 'a clickbait' to keep reading but it isn't. Whatever I expressed above is true but I must admit, aside from the technical work, the excitement I got from the story was only mostly there for first two episodes and the last. The ones in between seemed to divert away from the story of the child abuse at school which I found to be was the most interesting and focused more on the women's own lives. I felt like in those mid-episodes, the thrill and momentum was lost. Still very interesting from a different perspective but not as much as how it started which was brilliant and fueled me to binge for the entire day. Also, the post-murder flash-forward interview sequences seem to look trivial by the end cause it just seemed unnecessary after the climax is revealed. It's there to increase the tension, sure, but it just looked silly by the end.


I would've rated this show higher if it had avoided that (rather large) hiccup but I guess I should be fair. It would've been the highest rated show on my list but I guess it has to settle for the joint first. RATING: 8.5/10

 

Creator: David E. Kelley Rated: TV-MA Runtime: 1 hr/episode Genre: Crime, Drama, Mystery Starring: Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman, Shailene Woodley

40 views0 comments
bottom of page