top of page

(#80) Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (2018) - [9.25/10]

Miles gets thrust into the superhero world when he obtains the powers of Spider-Man.

Teen Miles Morales becomes Spider-Man of his reality, crossing his path with five counterparts from other dimensions to stop a threat for all realities.

How would I describe this film in one word?

Exquisite.

Note I saw this movie in the theatre a few months ago when it came out and now I saw it on Amazon Prime Video. And I'm so glad it came so that I can relive the amazing experience of this incredible film.



Review We've seen the Spiderman origin story quite a few times these past two decades and now we're presented with another origin story not of Peter Parker but of Miles Morales. This is a new take on the Spiderman story with identical story structuring yet being a class apart from the other films. Rarely have I found a movie that I've seen to be so close to be faultless. There isn't anything you could change about it. Never drags a second, has everything you want from it and you can't imagine it being better because it has already transcended your expectations for it. Such a masterpiece from every aspect. This movie would not work at all being live-action (maybe it could be replicated into a live-action, but it would not work and would be incredibly difficult to accomplish and I'm sure it was hard enough to create this animation). And it's comic-book style animation is by far it's best feature. It is stunning. That, blended with its incredible background score and voice acting makes this movie so lovable. I loved anyone wanted so much more out of the characters in this movie. They were so rich. From Miles, to Gwen, Papa Morales, to fat Peter to the Uncle. Within this seemingly short span of time, they packed so much like into these characters. Now that I think about it, maybe there is a flaw. It's not big, it doesn't ruin the film, it's not nitpicking though - the flaw is there but you barely notice it or care because the rest of the movie is just that good. And the problem being, Kingpin. Sure, we got his backstory, we got a good justifiable reasoning for his actions in his movie (many movies don't) but I suppose being the main antagonist, we could've had a bit more of him, and more meaning, more life too. But hey, I don't care! This movie was AWESOME!! It's definitely my favorite Spiderman film. One of my favorite animated films. That's all. That's as far as I'm praising it. And that itself is a lot from me. I can't wait for the next one (unless this was a one-off in which case, that would suck!). RATING: 9.25/10

 

Director: Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey, Rodney Rothman

Rated: PG

Runtime: 1 hr 57 min

Genre: Animation, Action, Adventure

Starring: Shameik Moore, Jake Johnson, Hailee Steinfeld

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page