top of page

(#78) Us (2019) - [8.25/10]

A woman's family vacation turns into a nightmare when their doppelgängers pay them a visit.

A family's serene beach vacation turns to chaos when their doppelgängers appear and begin to terrorize them.

How would I describe this film in one word?

Bizarre.

Note Why did I watch this film? Well, it's Jordan Peele's second directorial film after his raved first - 'Get Out'. I loved his first one so much. It had a unique creative take on it - easily one of the best (wacko) thrillers I've seen.



Review I wanted to experience the same emotions I had while watching 'Get Out' here. Didn't quite reach the mark of Get Out for me (that would be a harsh level of expectation though) but yet , it did not fail to deliver. The creativity, comedy and thrill of this film, is just as unique as Jordan Peele's directorial but maybe just not as impactful for some.


The story follows a woman who moves back to her childhood town and gets haunted by her traumatic experience there as a child. Soon, she gets confronted by her own doppelganger. Yeah, pretty crazy. It's very interesting, very weird. It's nice to see something fresh and new for a change. So the story department gets an A from me. The acting, especially from Lupita N'yongo gets an A+ from me - last time the A star performance being awarded to Daniel Kaluuya in Get Out. Both phenomenal acting!


I would recommend this film for the ones who have time to spare and want to watch a movie with a bizarre outlandish premise but still interesting enough to keep you on the edge of your seat and comical too. RATING: 8.25/10

 

Director: Jordan Peele Rated: R Runtime: 1 hr 56 min Genre: Horror, Mystery, Thriller Starring: Lupita Nyong'o, Winston Duke, Elisabeth Moss

10 views0 comments
bottom of page