top of page

(#75) 30 Minutes or Less (2011) - [6.25/10]

Updated: Jun 7, 2019

A pizza delivery boy is threatened to rob a bank within 10 hours.

Two fledgling criminals kidnap a pizza delivery guy, strap a bomb to his chest, and inform him that he has mere hours to rob a bank or else...

How would I describe this film in one word?

Rushed.

Note

I've heard of this movie before, never got around to watching it. Or maybe I'm mistaking Gone in 60 Seconds for this, I don't know. Either way, I thought I'd watch this cause it looked like it would be a fun watch, a funny watch. Well, ehh.



Review

The story is about a pizza boy deliverer who gets kidnapped and gets a bomb strapped to his body by the kidnappers who makes him rob a bank within 10 hours - who wants to use the stolen money to pay off a hitman to kill his dad and keep his inheritance. Yeah, well, it's not so confusing when they explain it in the movie. Anyway, that's the mission, that's what Jessie Eisenberg and his partner in crime Aziz Ansari (sorry, I forgot the characters names already) has to do and we follow them on their adventure. The thing is, the adventure isn't all that interesting. The adventure seems to go... all too well? Not only well, but without any hiccups or major backtracking like you'd expect. That may sound like I'm suggesting to be mainstream, but it's just a basic storytelling technique. Almost as if there was an Act 1, an Act 2 but no Act 3. Okay, now that I think about it, there was one. But I think in that case, the problem is that it happens so fast, it's a very fast-paced movie and in many ways that's a good thing, but it just feels rushed and I feel as if they are trying so hard to complete the story telling that they forget to put some character development. The jokes too are very mainstream and uncommon so it's unlikely to elicit a chuckle from you (it only got one out of me and a few smiles).


It's not a bad movie, it's just seems clichéd and rushed most of all. And I wasn't particularly impressed with Aziz Ansari's over-acting either. It's a very one-time-watch sort of movie. Not very forgettable however, cause it did have an intriguing synopsis and a lot of potential - which was eventually wasted.


RATING: 6.25/10

 

Director: Ruben Fleischer

Rated: R

Runtime: 1 hr 23 min

Genre: Action, Comedy, Crime

Starring: Jesse Eisenberg, Danny McBride, Nick Swardson

7 views0 comments
bottom of page