top of page

(#9) Roma (2018) - [7/10]

Updated: Apr 8, 2019

An poor house servant attempts to balance work life with her personal troubled one.

Cleo is one of two domestic workers who help Antonio and Sofía take care of their four children in 1970s Mexico City. Complications soon arise when Antonio suddenly runs away with his mistress and Cleo finds out that she's pregnant. When Sofía decides to take the kids on vacation, she invites Cleo for a much-needed getaway to clear her mind and bond with the family.

How would I describe this film in one word?

Eye-candy.

Note Technically breathtaking. This movie is directed by Alfonso Cuarón, director of masterpieces such as Gravity and Children of Men.

Review

This movie is set in early 1970s Mexico and centers Cleo - a unwealthy house servant who attempts to balance work life with her personal troubled one - in a large canvas highlighting the a political turmoil invoicing the Corpus Christi massacre of June 10 1971. She is quiet and timid woman who never feels at home with her family but eventually through the journey of the movie, she becomes a part of the family. From a neutral point of view of being unaware of the Mexican history, it is difficulty to fully comprehend the meaning and message of the film but it would surely tug your heart strings as it is emotionally an intense story filled with pain, betrayal and love. A simple story portrayed in a large canvas. This is my understanding of the movie. But if I'm going to be honest, I would prefer movies to keep its lens focused on a particular character's particular story and not hop around. I felt that this movie prolonged a lot of things and not really gave it's full attention to Cleo. It's not an entertainment. Don't get me wrong, I didn't expect a comedy, I love dramas but this just didn't give me a story to concentrate on, it wasn't boring but I yawned - because I was waiting for the story to actually progress. It eventually did halfway into the movie with her boyfriend and child and relationships with the kids but it wasn't enough. Probably the only thing that kept me going was the majestic bravura cinematographic craftsmanship of the movie and not mention the stellar quiet-but-deadly performance from our lead actress. I really wanted myself to enjoy it, but I guess I'm not yet there as a proper film critic to fully grasp the fully-fledged power of this movie. But I'm a neutral and this neutral wasn't satisfied. I hope that when I re-watch this film in the future, I slap myself in the face. But right now, I'm giving it...


RATING: 7/10

 

Director: Alfonso Cuarón Rated: R Runtime: 2 hr 15 min Genre: Drama Starring: Yalitza Aparicio, Marina de Tavira, Diego Cortina Autrey

7 views0 comments
bottom of page